GoDaddy Says Outages Caused by Network Rather Than External Hack

Go Daddy Group, a widely used web hosting and provider of website-name registration services, said outages of its website and services yesterday were caused by internal issues, and not an attack by hackers.

The Scottsdale, Arizona-based company, which says on its website that it has more than 10.5 million customers and manages more than 53 million Internet domain names, said service was restored yesterday.

“The service outage was not caused by external influences,” Scott Wagner, Go Daddy’s interim chief executive officer, said in a statement posted on GoDaddy.com “Once the issues were identified, we took corrective actions to restore services for our customers and GoDaddy.com.”

To contact the reporter on this story: Reed Stevenson in San Francisco at rstevenson15@bloomberg.net

Posted on September 11, 2012, in Technology. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I will immediately snatch your rss feed as I can not find your e-mail subscription link or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Kindly let me realize in order that I may just subscribe. Thanks.

  2. It’s in reality a nice and helpful piece of info. I am happy that you just shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  3. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I am hoping to offer one thing again and help others like you aided me.

  4. I take pleasure in, result in I found just what I was taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a comment